Interview of J.E. Taylor

I recently interviwed  J.E. Taylor, you can view her author spotlight here.

Q: Who are the three most influential authors to you?

 A: Stephen King –  I loved being scared – after all, wandering through a cemetery at midnight was a fun past time for me and my friends in high school – so his stories certainly fit the bill in satisfying my adrenaline rush needs.  

Lawrence Sanders – this is the first “serial killer” series that I read and I think I was in high school and I can still remember both story lines of The First Deadly Sin and The Third Deadly Sin.  Chilling.

Sidney Sheldon – two of my favorites were Rage of Angels – which after reading I actually entertained becoming a lawyer but I didn’t end up following that career path – and Master of the Game which impressed upon me the weaving of generations into one dark and multifaceted story. 

Q: What are your three favorite stories/books?

A: The Stand
Executive Orders
The Skin Trade

Q: What type of horror do you write – thrillers, cosmic horror, strange fiction, gothic horror, or something else?

A: Most of my writing falls into the thriller vein – whether mainstream thriller or erotic thriller or gory thriller, I’ve been told they read more like a horror novel and that could be due to my propensity to ratchet up the tension in a story. 

I do have a couple short stories that I would categorize as more traditional horror – Nightmares and Grayson House.

You can find my full list of short stories and novels here on Amazon.

Q:   Have you ever collaborated with another writer or considered collaborating?

A: I’ve toyed with the idea, but never followed through with it.  An opportunity to co-write a Noir fiction book came up, but my voice was so far from the original author that I couldn’t fathom trying to write something cohesive.   If I were to go this route, it would have to be with a like-minded author who is just as twisted as I am. 

Q: Where do you get inspiration for your work?

A: Primarily nightmares – they usually spark of an idea and I go from there.  Other influences in no particular order: current events, history, personal experiences and so on and so forth. 

Q: What can you tell us about your current project?

A: My most recent book – Hunting Season – is up on Amazon in paperback and I’m currently waiting for the e-book items to publish.  Initially, I was planning on rolling this out in May, but it’s done, it’s edited and packaged and since I’m driving this one myself, I don’t have to wait for a particular date.   I will have a “formal” launch on May 13, 2011 and I wanted to make sure the book was available on all the proper venues before I roll out the red carpet. 

Hunting Season is a cross between Criminal Minds and Supernatural and I had a blast writing it.  Here’s the blurb:

When Kyle Winslow escapes from custody and targets everyone Special Agent Steve Williams cares about, a turn of fate brings Steve face to face with Ty Aris – a criminal mastermind topping the FBI’s most wanted list.  Torn between justice and vengeance, Steve must make a decision. Join alliances with Ty, or arrest him and lose his best chance to catch the bastard who destroyed his family.   

Q:  Do you belong to any writer organizations?

A: Yes.  I’m in a local chapter of Romance Writers of America and I’m a member of Backspace (www.bksp.org) which I would highly suggest for any new writers on the block – I learned so much from the folks in the Backspace forum and would not be as far as I am without their help and influence.

Q: Are you a published or self published author?

A: Both.  My first five books were published through a small e-publisher family.  The erotic thrillers through eXcessica and the mainstream through their sister company Fido Publishing.   My side job of formatting manuscripts for eXcessica has put me in a position where I’m ready to venture on my own with Hunting Season.  Of course, I called in a couple favors and had the book edited and proofed before I rolled it out and for a self-published author this step is very important to bring an error free book to the virtual shelves. 

Q:  When was your first work published and how many do you have published to date?

A: My first story Nightmares was accepted by Niteblade and published in December of 2008.  My first published novel – Dark Reckoning (the first in the Steve Williams series) came out last year on my birthday.  July 5, 2010.  Very nice birthday gift. 

As of today, with the inclusion of Hunting Season, I have six books published.  I also have eleven short stories available through Smashwords and Amazon.   

You can find out more about me and my books at my website: www.JETaylor75.comStop in, sign the guestbook and let me know what you think. 

Thanks for having me!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

